PDA

View Full Version : mothers of older teenage boys...

Rebe
01-31-2013, 02:28 PM
How do you navigate your new role with your older sons? How do you even know what that role is? How do you go (gracefully and graciously) from being the most important human being in your son's young life to being increasingly irrelevant as he approaches adulthood (I ask that without resentment, just realism). How does your relationship change and how do you handle it, both outwardly with him and also inwardly when you just want to cry (I'm highly emotional, sorry!)?

I've been in tears over this for a week or two. My dh assures me that ds will "come back," that he'll talk to me and appreciate me when he's grown, but right now I feel like I'm just a driver (not for long), a grading machine, a cook, a shopper, and an alarm clock to him.

I think the hardest thing has been that he's totally unwilling or unable to discuss his future -- we had been talking about college but he's just shut down with me. Every time I ask a question about anything -- college or not -- I get this grunt/whine sound that means "get off my back," even though he's too polite to say that.

He's a good kid. I know that my problems are way less than many other moms who have wayward teen sons -- he's not wayward and he doesn't lie or backtalk me. He just is pretty much silent and I feel like our relationship is slipping away. :(

So I'm sad. I don't know how to handle this new stage. I know it won't last forever, but how do I get through it? What do I say to him, or do I just totally leave him alone? I've already told my dh that I am done talking about college. I'm not bringing it up again because it's obviously a sore spot with him. I'm through nagging him to get motivated or to apply himself (he's pretty lazy when it comes to school, and a huge procrastinator). I'm tired of arguing with him.