View Full Version : College style high school learning

Julie in AZ
12-04-2013, 07:31 AM
For the beginning of my ds' freshman year of high school this year, I really piled on the work. I spent 3 months working with him side by side teaching him study skills, showing him how to study for classes not taught by me (such as online Spanish), and letting him work late to complete all the assignments. He has done well but neither of us enjoy the amount of work each day.

I've been thinking about college and remembering how I structured my time. First of all, I think I usually took about 4 classes a semester. If I had a test in specific class, I would spend a couple of days mostly on that subject studying. Of course, with math and homework based classes I completed the work daily, but in all my other classes I studied in chunks.

So, I'm switching gears and trying this format with my ds for awhile to see how it works for him. I'd like to teach him how to manage his time without a daily requirement. This week he has a Spanish test on Wednesday so after completing math each day, he is alternating studying for his Spanish test, with several other subjects. He isn't doing any Biology or writing though. On Thursday and Friday, those two subjects will become his main focus while the others receive less time. I'm sure many high school students naturally figure this out for themselves, but that didn't happen here. :lol:

I was wondering if anyone else uses this approach. If so, how does is work in your home?

Julie Y
12-04-2013, 07:39 AM
Sounds like a good plan; be sure to let us know how it goes!

Cheryl from NY
12-10-2013, 02:57 PM
My kids prefer to work on two or three courses at a time. It is less for me to keep on top of, and they get through the course material much faster and more successfully if they only have a couple things to focus on.