PDA

View Full Version : Basket ideas

amibyers
06-04-2007, 12:07 AM
Hi everyone! I am new to the message board, but have been teaching FIAR at our homeschool co op for 2 years. I saw mention of using a basket filled with items relating to each book. I have been trying to find a list of suggested items on the message board to no avail. Can anyone help?? :roflol:

Thanks!!
amibyers

shalomew
06-04-2007, 07:49 AM
Here is a list from Volume 4 that I think is actually in the archives:

Roxaboxen- black pebbles, cactus, Arizona flag or postcard, sticks, white stones, plastic lizard

The Raft- popsicle raft, Wisconsin flag/postcard, mini fishing pole, crayons, toy bird (or other animal from book), plastic hamburger, snorkle and mask

Mailing May- stamps, toy train, Idaho postcard/flag, small suitcase, $1.55, label (like of May's coat-with the address)

Snowflake Bentley- paper snowflakes, plastic butterfly, single use camera, encyclopedia, an old negative

Gullywasher- sombrero, chili peppers, popcorn, toy horse, dried corn

Arabella- see Jane's suggestions in manual.

Higgins Bend- fish, fishing pole, potato, gummy worms, old sock, fish bait, popsicle raft, plastic bullfrog

Cowboy Charlie- cowboy hat, stars, Indian stuff, Montana and Missouri postcards/flags

Grass Sandals- chopsticks, oriental brushes, plastic frog, banana (plastic), sandals, cherries (plastic)

Albert- red bird, nest, bird eggs, maple leaf, berries (plastic), playing cards, radio, plastic beetle

Hickory Chair- hickory nut, lilacs, little chair, old Bible, braille

Hatmaker's Sign- replica or picture of Declaration of Independence, Tricorn or various hats, pictures of B. Franklin and T. Jefferson

Pumpkin Runner- small pumpkin, Australia postcard/flag, toy jeep, picture of hot air balloon, dog, running shoes, toy sheep

Angelo- pigeon, Rome picture/postcard, feather, nest, linguini

Hanna's Cold Winter- small toy hippo, paprika, straw, picture of cog train