PDA

View Full Version : I need more explanation of "notebooking"

Susan in Kentucky
06-25-2007, 12:31 PM
I just ordered my FIAR Volumes and haven't gotten them yet so this may be an unnecessary question. I'm not sure I am understanding about the "notebooking/lapbooking" that I am reading about. Is this explained in the FIAR volumes? I am new to HS (dd just finished K) and much of the 'lingo" is unfamiliar.

Thanks for any help.

Christie
06-25-2007, 12:45 PM
The notebook explanation in the manuals could be adapted to lapbooking/notebooking. The manuals describe activities (such as listmaking, vocabulary, maps) that are stored in 3 ring notebooks, divided by subject matter (a section for LA, for Social Studies, etc), if I'm remembering right.

Lapbooking or notebooking (like scrapbooking), arranges, by book, all those same learning activities together. So you would put the map, vocab, art project, etc on the same 2 page spread in your notebook or filefolder, instead of separating it out by subject.

Any tangible product of your lessons from the manual can be put in your notebook/lapbook. We also take pictures that I print off on regular paper to put in our notebooks, if the project is not "notebookable!"

Beth in FL
06-25-2007, 02:32 PM
Hi, Susan. You can find a lot of information about notebooking on the Web. Here's (http://www.notebookingpages.com/)one site to get you started. It's got free notebooking pages and a lot of information about what it is and how to get started. Another resource is the blogs of our own FIAR forum members, some of whom post photos of their notebooking creations. Sheri and SoniaM come to mind. You can go to the members' list to get to their Web sites. (SoniaM's homeschool site is linked from her blog, but here's (http://www.geocities.com/yeshuaeducare4life/index.html)the URL.) I am planning to notebook in the fall when we get started with FIAR, and I think it's going to enrich our learning so much! HTH.

Christie
06-25-2007, 03:19 PM