PDA

View Full Version : Owl Moon

ChristyinLA
07-02-2007, 12:50 PM
Hello!
I am new to the message boards but does anyone have any extra fun ideas for owl moon? I love extra "Mom" input!! I love hearing from others.
God bless!:roflol:

glendan
07-02-2007, 01:07 PM
We studied animal tracks along with Owl Moon. We made casts of tracks from plaster of paris. This was a big hit with my children and they turned out nice. As a matter of fact we still have them months later!

glendan

Jen in SC
07-02-2007, 01:15 PM
We learned that when you see a bunch of crows flying around one tree and causing a general ruckus (:lol:), they are sometimes trying to run an owl off. We went out in the daytime for a walk while rowing this book, noticed some obnoxious crows and then saw an owl...trying to get a decent day's sleep in that tree! :D It was pretty exciting.

Seems like I remember Becky Jane and her dh "planting" a homemade owl in a tree and going owling and thei kids being totally amazed. :lol:

Robin in Colorado
07-02-2007, 01:41 PM
We had a blast with Owl Moon.

I did this book in February and our local nature center had night-time owl walks, which we attended - in the snow!

Also, I ordered an owl pellet kit from sone place, and we had a great time with that.

Jane Claire
07-02-2007, 04:00 PM
I just found a book at our Costco...called Bird Songs which dials up and features bird calls from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. I had been hearing a bird on our creek, but couldn't see it and with that book identified a flicker. We certainly have a lot of those.

Anyway, it also had a recording (250 different birds in all) of a Barred Owl. We have lots of them in our back woods. Last night I thought, what if I go out in the dark and set this thing off? Would they answer me? I tried it and all of a sudden an owl flew out of the woods across our lawn and landed in a tree right above my head.