PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone here teach Latin?

Jen in AL
07-04-2009, 11:32 AM
If so, what do you use? And what do you recommend for a fourth grader? Also, I have NO experience with Latin whatsoever, so I also need a program that doesn't assume that the teacher is fluent in Latin. Thanks!:)

ETA: I'm leaning towards Prima Latina, so I'd love to hear from those who have used this. However, I'm definitely open to other suggestions as well.

Jeni
07-04-2009, 01:54 PM
Quite a few people around these boards teach Latin. ;)

We use Latin For Children (http://www.classicalacademicpress.com/) and LOVE it. It doesn't assume the teacher knows any Latin. My oldest son who is using it can pretty much study the program by himself (but we all end up listening in on his lesson ;) ). He started at the end of 4th grade. I think 4th / 5th grade is the perfect time to start Latin assuming they aren't still learning or struggling with reading and writing English. ;)

I also looked at Lively Latin (http://www.livelylatin.com/site/index.php). I haven't used it but I really like the look of it. ;)

JuliaT
07-04-2009, 01:57 PM
I have attempted to teach Latin to my oldest for a few years now. She is dyslexic, though, and I have since heard that it is very hard to teach a dyslexic child another language. For right now, then, we are taking a break until she is in Gr. 6 and see if this will make a difference.

We have tried a few things. We tried Prima Latina and Latina Christiana. We are not a workbook family so these did not work for us. It was just too rigid. We have had the best results in doing LC orally.

We have also tried Minimus. This was the best time with Latin that we have had. I love this program. It is not heavy on grammar but I think it is a great intro to latin.

I think PL might be a bit too young for your child. If you wanted to keep with Memoria Press, you could just jump in to LC I and take your time going through the lessons.