PDA

View Full Version : Opinions Wanted: Which Foreign Language

Paige P
07-22-2009, 09:36 AM
should I teach????? The recent yahoo article http://www.newsday.com/news/health/ny-hs-language-0720-nws,0,7625268.story?track=rss has spurred me that it really is time to work with my dc on a FL. I started studying FLs at 9 and don't even remember having to "learn" them. Let me give you some history:

I grew up overseas (in Holland), and I speak Dutch (which I wouldn't teach the dc -- I'm not proficient enough. I speak it but can't really read it unless I read it aloud to understand it :crazy: and can't write it), and I'm fluent in French (or at least I used to be :lol: ), minored in it in college and even had to teach it one year when I was teaching. That being said, I understand a lot of Spanish b/c of my French background and just being around it. I have Muzzy for Spanish and some Spanish CDs to use for the kids.

Which one should I teach the kids? I have no resources for teaching elementary French, but I can speak that fluently. I have some resources for Spanish but can't speak that off the top of my head..... AND, Spanish is a much more needed language around here.......

Maybe teach them French but expose them to Spanish, as well??????

Rachel
07-22-2009, 09:50 AM
My dh wants me to teach the kids Chinese. He thinks it will be very valuable.
I'm still trying to figure it out myself though. I won't start anything this year. I'm up to my ears in everything else already. I can't wait to see what you decide on and what you choose to teach it.

Melinda
07-22-2009, 09:59 AM
My personal opinion on foreign language is teach what you love. If your dc really, really need another language, I truly believe that God will allow them opportunities to learn.

Case in point, I'm fluent in sign language and only began learning 7 years ago when God place a wonderful Deaf lady in my life. Now I'm interpreting and ministering in that spiritually starving community.