PDA

View Full Version : Reading and Math for kindergarten

tracy in WI
09-05-2009, 11:59 AM
Hi, I am just beginning with my dd for kindergarten and I was wondering what programs have worked for others for the reading (phonics) and math for this age group. I was looking at hooked on kindergarten that includes phonics, writing and math but I wanted to know what other people have used. Thanks so much.

Hope
09-05-2009, 12:28 PM
When my middles were that age I used Alpha-Phonics and Explode the Code for reading. For math I used Making Math Meaningful.

KristenS
09-05-2009, 12:48 PM
Horizons math and Explode the Code phonics has worked for us.

Heather W
09-05-2009, 12:51 PM
Reading Made Easy (http://www.valeriebendt.com)!!!

Math on the Level (http://mathonthelevel.com)

Alicia
09-05-2009, 02:24 PM
I've used Sing, Spell, Read, and Write with my two oldest sons, and Bob Books {from the library} and Explode the Code with my youngest. I didn't use a special program for math in K. I just taught them things like telling time with a plastic clock and flashcards, money, and basic addition with dominoes, felt numbers, etc.

Holly S
09-05-2009, 03:05 PM
My DS is using Get Ready for the Code series for phonics and Singapore's Essential Math A and B.

elizawill
09-05-2009, 07:12 PM
for grade k with my dd, we used saxon k & math mammoth. for phonics she used explode the code and alternated it with headsprout lessons online.

for my ds (in k this year), we are using hooked on phonics k & making math meaningful level k.

Rebe
09-05-2009, 08:58 PM
Reading: Bob books and easy reader library books. For a struggling reader, I've added Explode the Code if needed.

Math: No curriculum. Just games, counting/adding with beans or other manipulatives, fun worksheets I find at Enchanted Learning.com, etc. When they're ready (or begging for a text/workbook of their own) then we start MCP Math (Modern Curriculum Press).

CJ
09-05-2009, 09:38 PM