View Full Version : Phonics problem

09-29-2009, 02:13 PM
I have a 5 year old boy and we are using Alpha-phonics to try and teach him to read. I am having trouble in that he is memorizing the words then when he sees a word that starts with, say m, he will say every word that he has memorized that starts with m. I've tried writing the words on flash cards, mixing them up, etc. without much change. The extra dilemna is that he wear hearing aids and doesn't hear the sounds well but he knows all the letter sounds and all the letters. Any suggestions for mixing it up to get past this or do I just need to keep plugging along? Thanks.

Shelly L
09-29-2009, 10:16 PM
Hmm... we used AlphaPhonics too. Let's see if I understand this right. When he sees a word that starts with 'm' he just runs through his list of memorized 'm' words, whether or not they rhyme, have the same second letter, etc.?

I'm not an expert on this stuff in any way, shape, or form, but just off the top of my head i would suggest that he needs a different type of reading intervention, based on his coping by memorizing, and also his hearing issues. HOpefully someone else on here will have more insight to this, but I wanted to encourage you that if AlphaPhonics doesn't seem to be working for him, don't hesitate to try something else, based on others' experience and suggestions, or even waiting a few months and just going over basic sounds with him to insure that he has the necessary reading readiness skills. It is not a crime to start reading instruction a little later, IMO, if necessary to make it the best learning experience for him.

09-29-2009, 11:42 PM
First, pray about it. Ask God to show you the solution you need. Ask Him to show you if you need to wait, keep plugging, get a different program etc.