PDA

View Full Version : History?

Sue G in PA
10-05-2009, 11:00 PM
Does anyone teach History separate from the tidbits that are taught in each FIAR book? I'm concerned that my 3rd grader hasn't really had ANY history thus far. Should I be adding a full history program? I think I'd like to do American with him but honestly can not take on another full "program". What would you do in this situation? Stick with what is covered in FIAR? Do some read alouds from various key periods in American History? I'm just so concerned this child is not learning enough.

JenLP
10-05-2009, 11:07 PM
We are doing history separately for several reasons, none of which have anything to do with the FIAR program. :) I feel that I am deficient in history, and DD really loves it, so we are doing a separate program so that we can cover it chronologically.

I'm also relatively new to FIAR, but American history does seem to be one area that gets covered particularly well in FIAR. I'm sure one of the more experienced FIAR moms will weigh in on how they have covered history. :)

Robin(CA)
10-05-2009, 11:30 PM
We've never done any history outside of the topics covered in FIAR, but I feel like ds has had a great exposure to history. We've discussed the Civil War and the history of slavery while rowing Who Owns the Sun and Follow the Drinking Gourd and most recently we covered a bunch of topics surrounding the American Revolution while rowing Paul Revere's ride.

While rowing Warm as Wool we talked about pioneers and wagon trains and westward expansion and All the Secrets of the World gave us a chance to talk about WWII.