PDA

View Full Version : Rosetta Stone Japanese

Rachel Jane
04-04-2011, 12:30 PM
Does anyone use this?

Opinions?

Karen in TN
04-04-2011, 02:07 PM
My son wasn't very successful with it. It does not come with a workbook and you are just supposed to "pick up" the grammar. If you had someone to go to if you got stuck it might be OK. We were completely on our own and it was bad.

Karen in TN

Kendra AU
04-04-2011, 04:22 PM
No, but Ive been curious. This is a language that would be useful to know in our region. ;) I've been thinking of using something else to tackle it though..

Shannon MI
04-04-2011, 06:59 PM
I haven't used Japanese Rosetta Stone, but I am currently studying Japanese, and when I looked into computer-based programs Rosetta Stone wasn't very well reviewed. I ended up purchasing Human Japanese which is under $25 and very good. http://www.amazon.com/Brak-Software-Human-Japanese/dp/0615179088/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1301961113&sr=8-2
(I also purchased Irasshai, a DVD based program through Georgia Public Broadcasting, and really like that as well.)

Lindsey Carter
04-04-2011, 07:39 PM
Someone bought this for us. Dh is halfway through level 2. He says his recommendation would depend on what you want to get out of it. It is good for learning basic conversation, but not good for learning grammar. Dh thinks that you will learn less with Roseta Stone 1-3 than you would learn in Japanese 1 in college. While the program is fun and easy to use, he would expect to learn more considering the high cost.

Rachel Jane
04-04-2011, 08:58 PM
I haven't used Japanese Rosetta Stone, but I am currently studying Japanese, and when I looked into computer-based programs Rosetta Stone wasn't very well reviewed. I ended up purchasing Human Japanese which is under $25 and very good. http://www.amazon.com/Brak-Software-Human-Japanese/dp/0615179088/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1301961113&sr=8-2