PDA

View Full Version : first time post - special needs 5 year old

Marna IN
07-26-2011, 03:34 PM
hi,

i'm new to the message boards and have never posted before. not sure how well i will be with this, specially since i'm not so computer savy (that's my husband) but i will try my best.

we adopted a little one from China 3 1/2 years ago who was a little over 2 years old. she is now 5. we wanted a child from the special needs group and we felt called to adopt a child with cleft lip and palate. however, when we arrived in China we realized we had what we call "surprises". that's the short story... :-)

as we have been home over the last 3 plus years with our little one the "surprises" have become more known, but also more difficult.

we LOVE adoption, but we were also not prepared for ALL the "surprises" that came with our adoption. it has been a hard long road, but also we have been blessed with new lessons everyday. however, sometimes it hard to keep those blessings up front and close when dealing with the 24/7 of a special needs child. that also, is the short story. :-)

i have a 17 year old whom i have always homeschooled. i love homeschooling! however, i feel lost in what i am supposed to "do" with our little one now.

i suppose i would love some direction, encouragement and sites that may help me along the way. even connecting with some other mommy's that can understand what it is like to parent our special ones, specially those that homeschool, that would be so nice.