PDA

View Full Version : Helping aspergers kid with FIAR

Alice G
11-16-2011, 02:40 PM
I have been using FIAR on and off with DS1 (6) for a couple of years. He really loves the books and he will listen happily to even longer stories now. We have recently started a diagnosis for him and the paeditrician thinks he has aspergers traits. His reading is good and he doesn't have any problems understanding.

I've been thinking that I can use FIAR to help him a little bit. Eg. lots of the stories focus on relationships and are quite emotional. If I could latch onto this and encourage him to see the emotions and feelings in the stories, it could help him in real life. Also, doing simple narrations on the stories could help him become a bit more creative as time goes by.

However these are obviously the things he struggles with!! I wondered if anyone else has any tips. I'll give some egs. of where he struggles. This week we have been rowing "The Very Last First Time". When I asked him what he enjoys doing with me he just said "going into town". He wouldn't really expand unless I gave him lots of ideas, which kind of defeats the point. When I asked him what his favourite page is he said "the same as Sammy" (his brother). Eventually he chose a different page, where she goes down into the hole, but then said it was because there was a snowman in the background. I knew this wasn't really why it was his favourite page as it is the most exciting bit!

Has anyone successful used FIAR with a kid on the spectrum?

Thanks for your help
Alice :)

Hollie in SC
11-16-2011, 03:00 PM
:hi: Welcome. There are several moms here with children who have been diagnosed with Asperger's or show signs of it. I'm sure they'll be along soon to chime in, but I wanted to say hello.

Alice G
11-16-2011, 03:05 PM
Thanks Hollie. I sometimes lurk on here but haven't posted much. It seems such a friendly board :)

CINDY LB OH
11-16-2011, 03:16 PM