PDA

View Full Version : Do you work OUTSIDE the home and home school?

Oney
02-17-2012, 10:42 PM
Got a situation here... need someone to bounce ideas off of.

If you work outside the home (full-time or part-time) give me a holler, k?

AmyinWI
02-17-2012, 11:18 PM
I have worked outside of the home, part time for most of our homeschooling years. I always worked 2-10 pm, so I was home with the kids all day,and my dh gets off work at 1:00 pm, so he would be home in time for me to get to work. It was do-able when we had 4 kids , now that we have 6 at home, and the youngest with severe special needs, it's not quite so easy.

Since I am a nurse, I have flexibility at my work. I only am required to work 2 shifts a month, so I usually do that, and occasionally more on weekends when dh is home.

Rachael
02-17-2012, 11:48 PM
I used to work seasonally before I had my youngest. We were limited to 880 hours a year, and we worked some 50 hour weeks, so about 18 weeks. I sent some basic work with my kids to their grandma's house. But they spent most of the time there being spoiled rotten, LOL.

Elizabeth in KY
02-18-2012, 12:12 AM
Yes. It isn't easy! On a slow week I'm gone three afternoons (12:30 - 8:00 or 9:00). During my busy weeks I'm away from noonish - midnight on those three days, and 3:00 - midnight on the other two weekdays. I also work one or two Saturdays a month. We just made it through one of my busy weeks, and we have lots of catching up to do next week.

We try to get all of our schoolwork done before I leave for work. Dh is home with the kids in the afternoons, so he can oversee their work if need be. We've found that things go better when I'm helping them.

Marsha in Fl
02-18-2012, 04:02 AM