PDA

View Full Version : teaching a child with DS

samantha j
04-15-2012, 10:48 PM
Hi
Im new to homeschooling and beyond 5. We have 5 children and our 6.5yr old girl Dakota has Down Syndrome. I was wondering if any one here has a child with DS and if you do how do you go about homeschooling them? I am very nervous about it and need some help........please......anybody:eek:.
Thanks heaps, Samantha.

Christi in OH
04-16-2012, 07:41 AM
Our daughter with down syndrome just turned 9. She has always been homeschooled. I will admit, I have been all over the place with homeschooling options.

Right now we are using some Before Five in a Row titles and printables from homeschool share or homeschool creations. Also some of the simpler Five in a Row books, she loved Ferdinand. I am using Teaching Math to People with Down Syndrome as a guide for math. Handwriting without Tears and we just started working with Terry Brown at So Happy to Learn for reading...it really is a nice program. We also do quite a few art projects each week, I have each day of the week assigned an art medium and we try to get at least that done.

My biggest goal for Veronica is basic life skills, we are doing calendar work, self and home care and really need to get moving on the reading.

I don't know if that was very much help. I know it has been very valuable to me to talk to others homeschooling and to remember to keep the lessons short and simple. It is sort of interesting here as Veronica's younger brother is quickly catching up and passing her in quite a few skills.

Good luck. :)

Hollie in SC
04-16-2012, 08:29 AM
:hi: Welcome! :)

AmyinWI
04-19-2012, 08:03 PM
Hello! :hi:

I have a nearly 5yo boy with down syndrome and autism. I am not currently homeschooling him. (He attends early intervention at the public school right now). I know there will be a day when I will be homeschooling him, but I too have wondered how to approach it.