PDA

View Full Version : New here and need advice!

Brandie
05-17-2007, 12:50 PM
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to FIAR. I found out about it after beginning homeschooling in the fall of last year, but was too insecure and unsure about using it. After much experimentation, I plan on incorporating FIAR regularly for my children next year (almost 7 and 4 year old boys), but I'm still a little insecure and unsure lol.

Here is my dilemma. We have recently moved to the state of Missouri, and apparently you have to have 1000 hrs of schooling in a given year. On a 40 week school year I would need to school 5 hours a day Mon-Fri. As of right now, I can school just my 6 year old with FIAR curriculum as a supplement to Time 4 Learning (for language arts, phonics, math and just because they love it), including Bible, Social Studies, Science, Applied Math and something just for Fun and still can not make the day last longer than 3.5-4 hours. I even throw in work sheets and booklets from enchanted learning and try to find a video from unitedstreaming (often times doing the supplemental worksheets there as well).....but I just can't stretch it out.

Is there anyone here that's from Missouri, or a similar state requiring a minimum amount of hours? How do you do it? I realize I must be doing something wrong, but I'd like to figure it out now before August :D

Thanks for reading!!

Stacey in FL
05-17-2007, 04:04 PM
I am not from your state and don't know the homeschooling laws, but keep in mind that there is more than book work to use up the hours. I am sure that there are lists out there of how to encorporate a multitude of things into an "educational experience". Just off the top of my head:

Chores= home ec, life skills
playing outdoors= P.E.
Field Trips= this is a biggie and could count for a multitude of subjects (You can even turn a trip to the grocery store into an educational event!;) )

There are also science dvds, educational computer games, and on and on.